Athena Outstanding Volunteer Award


Nominate for the 2024 Athena Outstanding Volunteer Award.

In honor of Dr. Margaret-Ann Armour, AWSN is pleased to announce the Dr. Margaret-Ann Armour Memorial Award for Outstanding Volunteer - The Athena. AWSN offers an annual award to recognize significant contributions made by a volunteer to the AWSN/STEM community in Alberta.

How to nominate

To demonstrate that the criteria for this award are met, you will be asked to:

  • Provide a nomination letter and CV/Resume 
  • Indicate the volunteer role(s) the nominee has played and their impact and unique contributions within the AWSN/STEM community in Alberta
  • Describe any non-AWSN/STEM volunteer roles 
  • Up to 2 supporting letters of recommendation

Please submit your nomination package by July 31, 2024.  If you are not able to submit online, please send an email to indicating that your hard copy nomination is en route to our mailing address:

AWSN, Attention: Athena Award Committee Box 1, 223 12th Avenue SW, Calgary, AB, T2R 0G9.

As an acknowledgment of the work that is required to prepare a nomination package, nominations will remain valid for two years (the year the nomination is submitted and for the following calendar year).

Past Winners

2019: Zeenat Ladak

2020: Ingrid Pederson

2021: Jessica Vandenberghe

2022: Nancy Manchak

2023: Hannah Bayne


Our Mission: Enabling a culture of diversity and inclusivity through STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) Programs. AWSN acts as the platform that initiates or supports programs, partners and stakeholders who amplify, magnify, or accelerate systemic and social change within the greater community, allowing all to participate to their full capacity in STEM